Saturday, February 4, 2023

Cover revel: the ruptured sky

The Ruptured Sky
Jessica A. McMinn
(Gardens of War & Wasteland, #1)
Publication date: April 4th 2023
Genres: Adult, Dark Fantasy, Fantasy

A dead goddess.
A broken sky.
A world wasted by magic.

Princess Amikharlia wants one thing in life: control of her own fate.

On the eve of her wedding, Amika flees her homeland, seeking the truth behind the mysterious magical abilities she’d kept hidden since childhood.

Taking up the life of a demon huntress, Amika uncovers a madman’s prophecy that would have her revive an ancient goddess—and destroy the world in the process.

Will Amika become a pawn in another man’s game or continue her fight against destiny’s shackles?

As a dark and dangerous power begins to rise, she must make her choice soon.

But is laying the world to waste truly the way to save it?

The Ruptured Sky is the gritty first installment of the dark fantasy quartet, Gardens of War & Wasteland—an epic adventure that blurs the lines between good and evil with a diverse cast of morally grey characters, perfect for fans of Anna Stephens, Mark Lawrence and Robin Hobb.

Add to Goodreads / Pre-order


Author Bio:

Jessica A. McMinn is a grimdark fantasy author based in regional NSW, Australia.

Since graduating from the University of Wollongong with Distinction in BCA (Creative Writing) and BA (Japanese), Jessica has spent five years in Japan teaching English, all while refining her writing. She now works as a freelance writer and author

In 2023, Jessica will release her debut novel, The Ruptured Sky, the first book of the dark fantasy trilogy, Gardens of War & Wasteland.

A prequel novella, The Collector's Lost Things, is currently available for free via jessicaamcminn.com

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / TikTok



Friday, February 3, 2023

Cover revel: magic conquers magic

Magic Corrupts, Magic Conquers
A.J. Locke
(Warrior of the Divine Sword Series)
Published by: Entangled: Amara
Publication date: April 17th 2023
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Description TBA

Book 1 in the series:

Add to Goodreads




Author Bio:

I'm your typical over-caffeinated writer with too many ideas and not enough time to do all of them. I write poetry and urban fantasy novels, and spend my days reading, writing and doing art all day. Not really, but a girl can dream. I'm an island girl at heart, originally from Trinidad & Tobago, but now make my home in NYC with my daughter.

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Instagram / TikTok


Sunday, January 29, 2023

Book Review: Silent Sisters by Jo-Anne Lee

Silent SistersSilent Sisters by Joanne Lee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Joanne Lee digging an eighteen-inch deep hole, with her bare hands, in the family grave in order to bury the body of a baby girl which she and her sister Cath had discovered stuffed into a red bin in her mother’s wardrobe. Bernadette, having concealed her pregnancy, claimed that the child had been stillborn and that she hadn’t known what to do. Joanne felt torn: having recently buried her own baby son she knew that her dead sister had a right to a proper funeral, yet she knew her mother would get into trouble for concealing the death and wanted to protect her. So, even though she knew it was wrong, she reluctantly suggested this illegal interment in the family grave. It wouldn’t be until 2008 that she would discover that Bernadette had also kept the remains of three more dead babies, born between 1986 and 1997: one was discovered in the same red bin and the other two in a canvas holdall. What the family had seen as the effects of Bernadette’s yo-yo dieting over the years had, in fact, been concealed pregnancies. With her mother initially denying all knowledge of the bodies, Joanne was arrested on suspicion of murder but, once the facts emerged, her mother eventually stood trial. However, because forensic examinations were unable to determine whether any of the babies had been born alive, she was charged only with the concealment of their births and deaths.
The background to these horrors is exposed through Joanne Lee’s account of her childhood experiences growing up in almost unimaginable squalor in a dysfunctional, filthy, chaotic home, seeing and experiencing things no young child should ever be exposed to. When the police searched the house in 2008, they discovered animal faeces scattered around the place, swarms of maggots, bin bags piled up from the floor to the ceiling, and even stinking, years-old nappies matted into the carpet. To describe her mother as inadequate is a huge understatement. Although she wasn’t physically abusive, she showed absolutely no interest in her daughter, leaving her to fend for herself from a very young age.
A sad story but so good that you wont want to stop reading.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review


View all my reviews

Book Review: The Lives of Desperate girls by Mackenzie Common

The Lives of Desperate GirlsThe Lives of Desperate Girls by MacKenzie Common
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Jenny holds secrets about the last night she saw her best friend tightly, unsure whether to tell anyone. Chloe's last few months were torture for reasons mostly beyond her control. When another girl, Helen, who lives on a nearby reservation, is found murdered on a remote trail, it isn't long before Jenny starts wondering why this girl isn't getting anywhere near the attention from local police as Chloe's disappearance is. When Jenny realizes brooding Tom, a senior at school, is willing to help investigate and might have a romantic interest in her, it leads to a number of events, some dangerous, others painful, but the most important ones opening her eyes to the frailty of those around her.
A very good young adult thriller that covers tough subjects such as bullying, sexual assault, racism and suicide. I really enjoyed this book.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


View all my reviews

Saturday, January 28, 2023

Book review: Two girls down By Louisa Luna

Two Girls Down (Alice Vega, #1)Two Girls Down by Louisa Luna
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Two girls disappeared and the cops are not finding any leads to whom took them. So, the family contacts Alice Vega to find them. Vega is very good at finding missing people and with the help of a local formal cop are they starting to dig deeper into the people around the two girls.
I loved this book from start to finish and could not put the book down. When the truth is revealed and its really dark and disturbing is what I was looking for. I truly can not believe the things people do but love the disturbed truth of it all.
I am a true fan o the author and will be reading more from her!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review


View all my reviews

Book Review: The Finders By Jeffrey Burton

The Finders (Mace Reid K-9 Mystery, #1)The Finders by Jeffrey B. Burton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have a big soft spot for any story that has a k-9 unit has a man character. My husband was a K-9 Handler and it always is a yes for me.
This book was more of a thriller book and centers around a dog trainers by not just an dobedience trainer but a cadaver dog specialist. This book centers around Mace Reid who just lost his dog and recently got divorced. He gets a new dog and is staring to train her. During training this new dog a serial killer begins targeting women in the area. He must use the new dog to try to trail this crazy cruel killer.
I trulely loved everything about this book and will be ready more from the author.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review


View all my reviews

Friday, January 27, 2023

Book Review: All the pretty things By: Emily Arsenault

All the Pretty ThingsAll the Pretty Things by Emily Arsenault
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Despite promising an exciting mystery, "All the Pretty Things" never delivered. When I discovered that the was set in an amusement park, I was excited, expecting a dark, nail-biting mystery. Instead I got Ivy, a rather boring protagonist walking around talking to people and along the way discovering some disturbing family secrets.
Ivy worked at her father’s amusement park and a coworker, Ethan, mysteriously dies after work one night. Ivy is unsettled by Ethan’s death and the reaction her best friend Morgan had shortly after Ethan’s death. Ivy starts an investigation and finds out the truth about Ethan’s death and Morgan’s mental health crisis
The cover was very beautiful and caught my eye, and again one of the reasons why I requested the book. Sadly the book just didn’t deliver. It felt like it was missing something. I was hoping for some crazy, exciting, thrilling plot twist, but sadly nothing.
Over was a decent book and would rate it a solid 3 stars.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews